260MC: Placing your media production in context- Task 3 ideas

Re filming Gone with the Wind- “Frankly My Dear, I Don’t Give A Damn”

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YYj0M19Ap34

47 seconds-2 minutes 8 seconds

We chose to do the film Gone With The Wind, with its most famous scene “Frankly My Dear, I Don’t Give A Damn”. I had the unfortunate role of acting as Scarlett, alongside my co-worker who played the role of Brett. We all gave input on the style of how it should be done as we wanted to achieve the Italian Neorealist film style that was given to us, however we found it difficult to do as we weren’t fully sure as to how we should go about filming this. So we stuck to the basic rules of Italian Neorealism. We mainly shot the scene with no restrictions, meaning no tripod etc, just hand held camera so we could follow that convention. We tried not to use artificial lighting and used a spacious location with a lot of windows so we could rely more on the natural lighting. However in one dark shot we used an LED light just so we could see the characters faces more clearly. We used non professional actors- myself and Abbas being probably the most non professional actors we could find, and we also tried to portray ourselves as more working class people rather than high or middle class people like in the original film, because italian neorealism preferred filming lower class people.

Original Script

Scarlett: I’m so sorry, I’m so sorry for everything!

Brett: My Darling, you’re such a child. You think that by saying “sorry” that all the past can be corrected. Here take my handkerchief. Never in any crisis of your life have I known you to have a handkerchief.

Scarlett: Brett, Brett, where are you going?

Brett: I’m going to Charleston, back where I belong.

Scarlett: Please, please take me with you.

Brett: No I’m through with everything here. I want peace. I want to see of somewhere there isn’t something left in life with charm and grace. You know what I’m talking about?

Scarlett: No! I only know that I love you

Brett: That’s your misfortune

Scarlett: Ohh Brett…… Bretttt, Brettt… Brett, you’ll go, where shall I go? What shall I do?

Brett: Frankly my dear, I don’t give a damn.

Re-edited Script

Scarlett: I’m so sorry, I’m so sorry for everything!

Brett: Babe, you’re such a child. You think that by saying “sorry” that all the past can be corrected. Here have a tissue. Never at any point in your life have I known you to have a tissue.

Scarlett: Brett, Brett, where are you going?

Brett: I’m going to Watford, back where I belong.

Scarlett: Please, please take me with you.

Brett: No I’m done with everything here. I wanna be free. I want to see somewhere there isn’t something left in life with beauty and simplicity. You know what I’m talking about?

Scarlett: No! I only know that I love you

Brett: That’s your problem.

Scarlett: Ohh Brett…… Brett, Brett… Brett, you’ll go, where will I go? What will I do?

Brett: Frankly my dear, I don’t give a damn.

Leave a Reply

